G700 is one of 37 European organisations, associations and individual citizens, to have been selected by the European Parliament as winners of the first ever European Citizen’s Prize, the CIVI EUROPAEO PRAEMIUM for 2008 (Official Journal of the Europan Union (2009/C 108/02).

G700 was nominated by the PASOK European Parliament group in December 2008 for actively promoting Intergenerational Solidarity and Young persons' Rights in Greece and the EU. The selection for the CIVI EUROPAEO PRAEMIUM of 2008 was done by an EP Committee made up by the European Parliament’s President, Hans-Gert POTTERING, the Vice Presidents Mechtild ROTHE, Diana WALLIS, Gerard ONESTA and Alejo VIDAL-QUADRAS, and the former Presidents Nicole FONTAINE, Josep BORRELL and Pat COX, as well as Nina NORGAARD from EUNET organisation.

According to the EP the European Citizens' Prize can be given for activities that either facilitate cross-border cooperation within the EU or promote better mutual understanding and closer integration between citizens and member states. It can also be awarded for day-to-day activities reflecting the values enshrined in the EU's charter of fundamental rights. 

Both our nonimantion for the first ever European Citizen's prize and the award itself has been a great honour to our Net-rootorganisation. More importantly it is encouraging for our actions and initiatives concerning the promotion of intergenerational justice in Greece and Europe in cooperation with organisations like 50plusHellas and Age Platform. In April’s celebrations for the first European day on Intergenerational Solidarity, we once again raised the issue that generational justice, the just balancing of relations among generations in crucial fields like the pensions system, the labour market, fiscal management, the environment and public goods, is a fundamental pillar of social justice and as such as fundamental precondition for achieving sustainable policies in Europe. Furthermore, dealing successfully with the Precariat, the new dangerous class made up primarily of young people who are socially and economically marginalised, means dealing with the generational issue. We sincerely hope that today’s Award will be the continuation of a pan-european effort that has just only begun to take shape.

The G700 Blog 2008 team consisted of the following in alphabetical order: V. Alevizakos, A. Gouglas, D. Gouglas, G. Kourelis, V. Kourelis, N. Kosyfas, I. Nastos, S. Raptis, P. Stamboulidis, E. Xyta, Z. Zindrou

Laureates / Winners 2008

1. Jose Maria MUNOA GANUZA
2. Associacao National de Municipos Portugueses
3. Karutner Konsengsgruppe
4. Danube (DUNA) Television Hungary
5. Verein zur Forderung des Stadterparnterschaft Leipzig-Travnik
6. Lajos OSZLARI
7. AEDE-Canarias
8. Unrepresented Nations and Peoples Organisation (UNPO) association
9. Polska akcja Humanitaria
10. Naturpark Bayer-Wald
11. Divaldo z Pasaze
12. Jochen GEWECKE
13. Towardzystwo Bambrow Poznanskisch
14. Burger Europas
15. Federacao de Associacoes de Juventude dos Acores
16. Πυροσβεστικό Σώμα Ελλάδος (Fire Services of Greece)
17. Europees Musikfestival voor de Jeugd
18. Fransisca SAUQUILLO PEREZ del ARCO
19. Campus 15
20. Franz-Josef MEYER
22. Donauburo-Ulm
23. Kolpingjugend Europa
25. Jean Pierre DAULOUEDE
26. Susana LIPOVAC Kinderberg International
27. Administratori de la Comune di Lula 2002-2007
28. Kolegium Europy Wschoniej im Jana Nowaka-Jerioranskiegen
30. Tomasz ROZNIAK
31. Wojciech WRZESINSKI
32. Raisa MURUMETS
33. Emberi Jogi KOZPONT
34. Michael NIELSEN
35. Luigi CIOTTI
36. G700 Blog
37. Oud Limburgse Schuttersfederatie